# Where did my bookmarks or passwords go?

### Where did my bookmarks or passwords go?

If you uninstall the DuckDuckGo app/browser on your device, your bookmarks and/or passwords will be deleted, as they’re stored locally. The only way to prevent this loss of data is to use our [Sync and Backup](/content/duckduckgo-help-pages/sync-and-backup/index.html) feature, so that your bookmarks and/or passwords are synchronized across multiple devices.
